RÖSSING MARATHON CHAMPIONSHIP 10km race and 5km charity walk for the Cancer Association of Namibia
(9 February 2011)

The Rössing Marathon Championship, organised by the Swakop Striders Athletics Club, will take place for the 20th consecutive year in Swakopmund on Saturday, 19 February 2010.

Roadrunners from all over Namibia are expected to participate in this prestigious event on the Namibian athletics calendar.

The winner of the 42.2 km marathon will be crowned the Rössing Marathon Champion for 2011.

In 2010 the event attracted 70 athletes in the marathon and 120 athletes in the 10km race sponsored by Rössing Uranium.

Erich Goeieman from Walvisbay Roadrunners won last year's marathon with a time of 02:26:14. It is not yet known if Erich Goeieman will defend his title which he won in 2008 and 2009.

This is one of the last events where aspirant runners can qualify for South African long distance running events.

The prize money in this event has been significantly increased from the previous years to a total of N$60 000. The first man and lady in the open event will each win N$10 000.

In addition to generous money prizes for category winners, T-Shirts will be issued to all entrants in the marathon and the 10km run.

The 10km event will again be a popular race and judging by previous events, a good field can be expected. The 10km is not only for athletes who do not want to participate in the full marathon, but is open to everyone who wants to run this distance.

Runners can enter in the following categories: Men (age 20-39) and Ladies Open (age 20-34); Veteran Men (age 40-49) and Veteran Ladies (age 35-49); Masters (age 50 plus); Grand Masters (age 60 plus), as well as the Junior category in the 10km for those 12 to 19 years of age.

Entries will be taken at the starting point on Friday, 18 February from 18:00 to 21:00 and from 06:00 to 06:45 on the morning of the event. Entry fees are N$30 for the Marathon and N$20 for the 10km Run.

The marathon and 10km Run will start at 07:00 at the Swakopmund Athletics Stadium, Welwitchia road, Vineta.

Both the Marathon and 10 km race will follow the same route from the stadium onto Welwitchia road, and then out on the road to Henties Bay and back with the finish at the same place where the race started.

Refreshment stations will be set up approximately three kilometres apart and there will be sufficient marshals along the route to see to the traffic control.

Rössing team event

For the 9th year a Rössing 10km relay team event will be held for employees and contractors. Each of the four runners in a team runs 2.5km. The popular Rössing team event starts with the main race at 07:00.

The prize-giving event starts shortly after the official cut-off time at 12:00.

Various prizes in the 5km Charity Walk for the Cancer Association of Namibia

A 5km Charity Walk for the Cancer Association of Namibia starting at 09:00 (entry from 08:30 at the event), will be hosted for the 7th year. It is open to ALL and promises to draw a large number of walkers.

In this fun filled event there will be various prizes such as for the best dressed walker, tallest walker, youngest & oldest walkers and the walker with the most interesting hat. The entry fee is N$10 per walker with the proceeds going to the Cancer Association of Namibia. Last year 122 walkers participated. The prize-giving event for the Charity Walk is at 10:30.

For further information please contact Frank Slabbert at tel. 064 405788 (h) or cell 081 240 3383 or Botha Ellis at tel. 064 520 2426 or cell 081 286 0456 or Alwyn Lubbe at tel. 064 520 2436 or cell 081 122 5201.

Previous Marathon winners are:

1992 Luketz Swartbooi 2:11:23
1993 Aaron Shipanga 2:28:23
1994 Fritz Awoseb 2:17:05
1995 Moses Maasdorp 2:25:32
1996 Alex Cloete 2:26:44
1997 Joseph Tjitunga 2:19:06
1998 Johannes Gawaxamab 2:29:48
1999 Luketz Swartbooi 2:20:44
2000 Tobias Hiskia 2:28:04
2001 Salomo David 2:28:29
2002 Tuhafeni Petrus 2:29:08
2003 Robert Kaxuxuena 2:26:20
2004 Salomo David 2:29:04
2005 Salomo David 2:22:28
2006 Salomo David 2:30:02
2007 Simon Shigwedha 2:27:16
2008 Erich Goeieman 2:25:57
2009 Erich Goeieman 2:26:14
2010 Erich Goeieman 2:21:19