Results - Rössing National Marathon Championship and 10 km Run
(16 February 2013)

Paulus Iyambo of the Namibian Defense Force (NDF) retained his title of national marathon champion of Namibia when he finished the Rössing National Marathon Championship in a new personal best winning time of 2:18:16 on Saturday. Looking relaxed after the race Paulus said: "I have to give credit to the whole NDF team. We always train together and help to pace each other whilst we're out there competing. I know that I am in for a tough race whenever we run together. Thank you to my coach for his guidance and Rössing Uranium deserves praise for creating such a competitive platform for us to show our talent.”

Simon Shipingana and Reonard Namupala, both from the NDF as well, finished second and third respectively.

In the Ladies Open category, Alina Armas, competing for the NDF became a first time winner in the Rössing Marathon, taking the gold in a time of 2:35:53. She was followed by Ndeshimona Ekandjo in second and Ottillie Aimuata in third place.

Marathon Men's Open winner Paulus Iyambo (middle) with runner-up Simon Shipingana (right) and third placed Reonard Namupala (left) and with Melissa Shanjengange, Rossing General Manager HR

Marathon Ladies Open winner Alina Armas with Melissa Shanjengange, Rossing General Manager Human Resoures

10km Men's Open winner Jeremia Shailiaxwa with Johan Bronkhorst, Swakop Striders Chairperson

10km Ladies Open winner Beata Naigambo with Johan Bronkhorst, Swakop Striders Chairperson

Marathon winner Paulus Iyambo

10km Runners

10km Runners during the Rossing Marathon National Championship in Swakopmund

Marathon runners competing in the Rossing Marathon National Championship in Swakopmund on 16 February


The event, hosted in Swakopmund by Swakop Striders Athletics Club and sponsored by Rossing Uranium for the 22nd consecutive year drew 95 marathon runners. One hundred and forty four 10km runners also participated at the same event. The theme for this year's competition was “Champion your Health, Champion your fitness.”

The Namibian Police athlete Jeremia Shailiaxwa took the honours over 10 kilometres with a time of 31:18 in the men's category, while Beata Naigombo won the 10km ladies category for the second year in a row with a time of 34:18.

The Men's Open and Ladies' Open Marathon winners won N$10 000 cash each as well as a Development Bonus worth N$20 000 each in support of the continued development of the athletics careers of these two champions over the remainder of the long distance running season in 2013.

Speaking at the main price giving ceremony after the event, Rössing's General Manager Human Resources, Melissa Shanjengange said: “The Rössing Marathon presents Namibian long distance runners with an excellent opportunity to prepare and qualify for the premier South African long distance competitions in the following months. Rössing is proud to be involved in the shaping of our Namibian athletes and thus creating ambassadors for healthy lifestyles all over the country and beyond.”

Shanjengange added: “I am also happy to announce that we are committed to continue our sponsorship of this important event on the Namibian athletics calendar, and plan to do it for the 23rd time next year.”

The fun filled 5km Charity Fun Walk in aid of the Cancer Association of Namibia attracted walkers from not only the coastal towns, but also as far as the United Kingdom and Brazil. During the Fun Walk prize-giving, prizes were given in various categories, including for the youngest walker who was four years old and the oldest walker at 72 years of age as well as the shortest walker.

Issued by Rössing's External Affairs

Botha Ellis
Communications Advisor
Tel: 064 520 2426
Cell: 081 286 0456